Jimmy Buffett Earns Songwriters Hall Of Fame Bid

Jimmy Buffett has been nominated for induction into the 2012 class of the Songwriter's Hall of Fame. The Hall plans to make an official announcement about this year's inductees on October 16, but has released the complete list of nominees ahead of time.

Jimmy will join an elite cast of fellow songwriters at this year's induction including B.B. King, Ray Davies, Elvis Costello, Vince Gill, Annie Lennox, Dave Stewart, Linda Perry, Jeff Lynne, Steve Winwood and Bobby Womack.

The chief songwriters behind Fleetwood Mac (Stevie Nicks, Lindsey Buckingham and Christine McVie), Foreigner (Mick Jones and Lou Gramm) and Aerosmith (Steven Tyler, and Joe Perry) have also gotten nods.

Voting on the nominees closes on December 17 and the new inductees will be named on June 13, 2013 in New York City.

Copyright(c) 2012 RTTNews.com. All Rights Reserved